Tap to Read ➤

List of Australian Army Ranks in Lowest to Highest Order

Shreyas Dasharathe
The Australian Army has a size of just around 30,000 soldiers, but is one of the most well-trained and modernized in the world. We list the ranks of the Australian Army, and a brief about what the insignia symbols mean.

Did You Know?

25th April is observed as Anzac Day in Australia as well as New Zealand, in remembrance of those who served and died in conflicts and wars.
The Australian Army, which is Australia's military land force, has been active since March 1, 1901. It has been a part of various major and minor wars and conflicts, the most prominent of them being the World Wars. The Australian territory has only being attacked once, which was during the Second World War.
The Australian Army is part of the Australian Defence Force (ADF) which also consists of the Royal Australian Navy (RAN), and the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF). The Army is commanded by the Chief of Army (CA).
The structure of army officer ranks are organized in the following way, for promotional and administrative purposes. These ranks define officers' roles and duties in the army.

Symbols of Australian Army Ranks

Three symbols are used on the insignia of the army.

The Crown: Earlier, it was the Imperial State Crown. Following the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, it was replaced by St. Edward's Crown.
The Star: It comes from the Star of the Knight Grand Cross of the Military Division of the Most Honorable Order of the Bath.

The Crossed Sword and Baton: This has been in use from the beginning. It has remained unchanged ever since.

Australian Army Ranks in Lowest to Highest Order

Commissioned Officer Ranks

Officer Cadet/Officer Trainee Ranks

Staff Cadet (SCDT)
Officer Cadet (OCDT)

Company Grade Officer Ranks

Second Lieutenant (2LT)
Lieutenant (LT)
Captain (CAPT)
Field Grade Officer Ranks

Major (MAJ)
Lieutenant Colonel (LTCOL)

Senior Officer Ranks

Colonel (COL)
Brigadier (BRIG) (since 1928)

General Ranks

Brigadier General (until 1922)
Major General (MAJGEN)
Lieutenant General (LTGEN)
General (GEN)
Field Marshal (FM)

Other Ranks


Recruit (REC)
Private (PTE)

Non-commissioned Officers

Lance Corporal (LCPL)
Corporal (CPL)
Sergeant (SGT)
Staff Sergeant (SSGT)
Warrant Officers

Warrant Officer Class Two (WO2)
Warrant Officer Class One
Regimental Sergeant Major of the Army (RSM-A)
There is another rank above the General, that is of the Field Marshal. It is the highest rank in the Australian Army. However, no officer has been appointed as a Field Marshal since Sir Thomas Blamey, who was named Field Marshal of the Australian Army in 1950.
This rank is held by the Duke of Edinburgh, and is unlikely to change till the Queen remains on the throne.